BOD Profiles

Our five member Board of Directors are elected by the residents of San Benito County. Our Board meets on the last Wednesday of every month at 5:00 p.m. (unless otherwise specified) at the District office Board Room.

Division 1

John Tobias, Director
John Tobias has been a member of the District’s Board since November 1998. Director Tobias was raised in San Benito County and graduated from Oregon State University. He has owned and operated Tobias Farms since 1976. John has been a member of the San Benito County Farm Bureau and served on the San Benito County Fair Board for 16 years. John has an active interest in the present and future of agriculture in the community.

Division 2

Joe Tonascia, President
Joseph “Joe” Tonascia joined the District’s Board in December 2008. Director Tonascia, who was originally from Santa Maria, is a graduate of Cal Poly, San Luis Obispo and has been a resident of San Benito County for twenty-seven years. Director Tonascia has served previously on the Board for: the California Young Farmers, the Sugar Beet Association, the San Benito County Planning Commission and the Hollister Little League. He is a current member of the San Benito County Farm Bureau. As a farmer and active volunteer in San Benito County, he would like to bring insight and ideas to a board that he feels is extremely important to the future of our community.

Division 3

Frank E. Bettencourt, Director
Frank Bettencourt has been a member of the District’s Board since November 2004. Director Bettencourt has been a resident of San Benito County most of his life. As a previous District employee, with over sixteen years in the water industry, Director Bettencourt holds several water related certifications and continues to build on his education within the industry to help better our county’s water supply.

Division 4

Doug Williams, Director

Division 5

 Sonny Flores, Vice President  

Sonny Flores joined the Water District’s Board in November 2004. Director Flores was born and raised in San Benito County, and continues to be a resident and active community member. Director Flores is currently the Executive Director of a local non-profit affordable housing company providing housing in San Benito County.